Saint Botolph: patron saint of travelling (!)

Now someone was having a laugh when they named this chap the patron saint of wayfarers.  Just take a moment to stop and say it out loud quickly in an accent and you’ll figure out why (bolt-off)!  Am I pushing it??

Now I’m not one to think of any particular person as worthy of “saint” status (and if I did, I’d probably make a good few saints from every religion and none), but it humoured me on a London rush-hour travel when I was walking past the catchily named “St Botolph without Bishopsgate“.  Try flyering people for a carol service in that church…

“‘Scuse me sir, could I invite you to our carol service at St Botolph withou….”

(sees person already 10 metres down the road)

st_botolph_without_bishopsgate_-_geograph-org-uk_-_1193048

Leave a Reply

